Group Privacy: Preventing Group topics from being publicly visible.
When creating topics in a Group, the privacy of the topic will default to what has been selected in "Group Visibility" under "Settings" on the "Admin Tools" page. Here, Group Founders and Admins may select three settings:
- This group is visible publicly.
- Only Admins may make public topics in this group.
- Posts are public by default.
If the Group Founder or Admins wish to ensure that topics created are only available to members of the Group by default, then the "This group is visible publicly" and "Posts are public by default" must remain unchecked.
If the Group Founder or Admins wish to prevent any other member of the Group from posting publicly, then the "Only Admins may make public topics in this group" option must be selected.
If a Group Member that is not the Founder or an Admin wishes to post a public thread on behalf of the Group, "Only Admins may make public topics in this group" must not be selected.
Prior to posting a topic, please always ensure that the "Private (Members only)" checkbox has the desired selection. If a topic is accidentally posted to be public, it may be edited and the privacy setting corrected. If a topic is accidentally posted as private, a new topic will need to be created.
For information regarding Recruitment posts, please see: RECRUITMENT FORUM FAQ