Cross Save lockout is blocking me from participating in S22's Day1 Raid
tl;dr I tried to update the username being displayed under my PSN after I changed it in Sony's website since it had sensitive info, and now I'm locked from playing on Steam and participating in Day 1
I understand that Cross Save policy is explicit that there are no exceptions to the 90-day lockout, but I'm hoping someone from Bungie would help me with this issue as it is quite important not just for me, but also the friends I plan to do the upcoming Day 1 Raid with.
Here's the complete story:
I created my first ever Bungie account in PSN under an old username, this was back in 2020. I finally had a gaming PC which allowed me to play on Steam. Thankfully, Cross Save allowed me to continue using my PSN character so I wouldn't have to start over.
After moving to Steam, I never went back. All of my in-game purchases are done through Steam: Beyond Light and its seasons, Witch Queen Deluxe, Lightfall Deluxe, and even all my Silver.
Since the move to PC, I almost never played any FPS games on our PS4, so all my game time is spent on PC with a keyboard and mouse. Gamers who migrated platforms and never turned back know that skills developed on controller slowly disappear as we develop skills for keyboard and mouse.
Fast forward to this year, I recently changed my PSN username since it contained some of my sensitive info wherein people can identify me in real life because of it. Thankfully, I was able to change it before anything serious happened.
But I noticed that Bungie and its API websites (i.e. Nightfall report) were still using my previous PSN username. Surely enough, upon checking Cross Save settings in Bungie.net, my old username was still on display. So I immediately wanted to refresh that PSN link to reflect my new username, but, there wasn't an option for that. I don't recall seeing an option to "refresh" a connection to an account.
I then had a thought: maybe I can unlink my PSN and relink it so that I can see my new username. However, I couldn't unlink any accounts without deactivating Cross Save. I proceeded with deactivating Cross Save on my account without knowing that my Steam account will lose access to my PSN character.
Since it's "Cross Save" and I never made any characters on Steam, I thought my PSN characters would just be copied over. I know as well that expansion ownership is not shared across platforms, so I was hoping to set Steam as my main account and host all of my characters since all of my in-game purchases are in Steam despite my characters originally coming from PSN.
Because I deactivated Cross Save, I no longer have access to my PSN characters in Steam. Logging into Destiny leads me to character selection screen as if I never made any characters.
This is problematic for several reasons:
1. My PSN characters have all of the gear I obtained from expansions bought in Steam, but since I can't access content from those expansions (i.e. Last Wish), I can't do preparations with my Day 1 Raid Team. I'll have to buy the expansions all over again on PSN just so I can join them on console.
2. It will be detrimental for me and our team to force myself to get good on controller in within 2 weeks just so I can continue to participate in the upcoming Day 1 Raid.
3. I no longer have easy access to a PS4 to simply migrate my setup to console gaming.
4. Our team doesn't have a readily available alternative that could replace me for our Day 1 participation, so it would be pretty disappointing if we would have to disband and cancel our attempt.
I'm especially disappointed with the lockout since I made it a personal goal to gild Conqueror ever season ever since I gilded the seal back in Season of the Risen. I still have to accomplish Lightblade and Psiops: Moon, but I won't be able to since Lightblade is tied to Witch Queen which I don't have on PSN.
I'm hoping that Bungie would understand my stance, revert my lockout, and open up discussions in cross-ownership of expansions to prevent difficulties like this from affecting other players. It would be an amazing quality of life improvement for players who play in multiple platforms, even those that got into Destiny through Epic Games but moved to Steam, or vice versa.
Hate to say it but I don't think anything can be done. This other guy has a similar issue, and a moderator replied on it: https://www.bungie.net/en/Forums/Post/263173985?sort=0&page=0
He said: Hey there. Your characters were PSN ones being shared to Steam via cross-save. So at any time you logged in on Steam, you saw your shared PSN characters, and any progress made while playing on Steam, was being made to these PSN characters.
By cancelling cross-save, the characters reverted back to being PSN-only, and on Steam you now see whatever you had before setting cross-save up.
Unfortunately the cooldowns are mandatory. They cannot be reduced nor bypassed.