If your friend incorrectly selected the active account for their cross-save, the only way to correct that mistake is by deactivating cross-save. If they purchased silver in the last 90 days on any of their accounts, then there is a lockout period before deactivation can occur. Given the 74 day wait you mentioned, that would be the remaining time of the silver purchase lockout period. Once that timer has expired, they can deactivate cross-save, which will incur the 90 day cooldown period before reactivation. It’s a shame that folks don’t read up on how cross-save works, and the limitations/restrictions for using the feature, before activating. Unfortunately, your friend will have a bit of wait now, before changes can be made on their setup. https://www.bungie.net/en/Help/Troubleshoot?oid=48099
Hi there, Thanks for reaching out. His characters are not lost but instead obscured by the active Cross Save account. His characters are completely safe, but cannot be accessed again until Cross Save is deactivated.